International Women's Day 2024

Jayne Hewitt, Quality Manager for Ossett Brewery in West Yorkshire and Secretary of the IBD's Great Northern Section, on her continuing journey with the IBD

I rather fell into brewing after studying applied Biology in Leicester, being the first job I was offered! A role as assistant QC Technician at Everards Brewery gave me a great start into what has turned out to be a life-long career in the industry. After a year or so, an opportunity arose at the Tetley’s brewery in Leeds, even further from home and moving away from friends I had made in Leicester, but the move turned out well and I have settled in God’s own country. My 17 years at the Tetley’s site saw many changes to my role and the company ownership. I studied for the AME (now Diploma) in the days when you had to take all 3 papers at once, and happily passed first time. A lab role later turned to Technical Brewer and gave me a much broader understanding of the whole brewing and packaging process. This business wide role also helped greatly in completing my Master Brewer qualification before I left what was by then Carlsberg.